Seán Tyrrell - Moonlight On Galway Bay | CD

Be the first to review this product

Availability: In stock


Seán Tyrrell - Moonlight On Galway Bay | CD

More Views


Seán Tyrrell - Moonlight On Galway Bay | CD

After much deliberation the album of big songs ‘Moonlight On Galway Bay’ is finally here.
A suggestion made by Davy Spillane to cover these much-hackneyed classics, way back in the early 90′s was the kernel for this album. A chance request for ‘Galway Bay’ from an old lady at the Milwaukee festival many years later got Seán thinking. Once he read the lyrics he was hooked.
Humbled by what he had ignorantly regarded as songs for the corn beef and cabbage circuit. He set to work learning them. He has taken these old gems and lovingly breathed new life into them. Presenting them in his own inimitable style. No big symphonic manoeuvre.
For Seán it is always about the lyric and getting the story across, as luck would have it all of these lyrics are married to the most beautiful melodies, with the help of a small enclitic band of great musicians once again Seán Tyrrell has delivered a rare and wonderful album.

1. Galway Bay
2. Come Back Paddy Reilly
3. Ballroom of Broken Dreams
4. Carrickfergus
5. Down by the glenside
6. Boolavogue/kelly the boy from Killane
7. I’ll Take You Home Again Kathleen
8. Side By Side
9. The Mountains Of Mourne
10.IsleThe Of Innisfree
11. Black Velvet Band
12. Noreen Bawn
13. The Coast of Malabar
14. The Wild Colonial Boy
15. Danny Boy
16. The Moonshiner
17. Dan O’Hara
18. The Star Of The County Down

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.


Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register